ESG Shipping Awards International 2024: Celebrating Innovation and Excellence in the Global Maritime Industry


The highly anticipated ESG Shipping Awards International 2024 took place on the 20th of May, honoring outstanding achievements and innovative initiatives within the global maritime industry. Held at the Grand Hyatt in Athens, the event marked another year of celebrating shipping companies worldwide that demonstrate exceptional best practices in Environment, Social, and Governance (ESG).

The ESG Shipping Awards 2024 International signifies a pioneering Greek initiative, the world’s inaugural event of its kind, established in partnership with the Ministry of Shipping and the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping. Winners hailed from diverse regions and various maritime operations, showcasing the global impact of sustainability efforts across the industry.

“The ESG Shipping Awards is more than an awards ceremony,” remarked Helena Athoussaki and Katerina Stathopoulou. “It is a platform of recognition, collaboration, and knowledge-sharing, driving the maritime industry globally towards a more sustainable and prosperous future.”

In his opening greetings Mr. Manolis Koutoulakis, Secretary General of Maritime Affairs & Insular Policy, stated that the ESG Shipping Awards serve as a crucial stakeholder platform, highlighting key players and initiatives in the Maritime Economy during a critical era marked by global, European, and regional crises, he then added “The ESG Shipping Awards initiative, along with the ESG Conference and workshops, as a remarkable and successful journey that has increased the visibility of the ESG framework within the shipping industry, positioning it as a leader in sustainability.

The Chairman of the judging committee, Mr. Jan Fransen, underscored the challenges faced during the evaluation process and highlighted the diverse range of entries reviewed, showcasing the industry’s strong commitment to ESG principles.

The Honorary Recognition Award was presented to Mr. Emanuele Grimaldi Chairman, International Chamber of Shipping, for his significant contribution to promoting sustainability in the maritime industry.
The esteemed Private Philanthropy Recognition Award has been presented to Mr. Panagiotis Angelopoulos & Mr. George Angelopoulos in honor of their remarkable dedication to philanthropic efforts and their unwavering commitment to providing support to those affected by Storm Daniel in the Thessaly region.

“Mr. Panagiotis and Mr. George Angelopoulos have been active philanthropists for many years, supporting various causes and initiatives aimed at improving the well-being of communities in need. Their response to Storm Daniel is just one example of their enduring commitment to humanitarian efforts.” said the organizers when presenting the award. The prestigious Motivation Award, focusing on environmental excellence, was received by the prominent founding members including Lloyd’s Register, Capital Group, Navios Maritime Partners, Neda Maritime Agency, Star Bulk Carriers Corp. and Thenamaris. This award recognizes their significant support for Maritime Emissions Reduction Centre (M-ERC), a not-for-profit collaborative initiative based in Athens, which aims to optimize the efficiency of the global fleet and promote solutions for reducing greenhouse gas emissions. The Motivation Award was presented by Mr. Emanuele Grimaldi, who highlighted the collective impact of these founding members in fostering environmental sustainability within the maritime industry. The announcement of the ESG Leader Award marked the conclusion of a memorable evening, characterized by celebration, reflection, and a collective commitment to a more sustainable future in the maritime industry. As the event wrapped up, the organizers expressed their excitement and anticipation for the upcoming ESG Shipping Conference International scheduled to take place in Athens in October 2024.

The winners of the ESG Shipping Awards International 2024 are as follows:

Supply Chain Leader Award:
Gold: Euronav
Silver: Seanergy Maritime Holdings Corp. & Atlantic Bulk Carriers Management Ltd.
Bronze: Laskaridis Shipping Co.
Presented by the organizers

Technology Leader Award
Gold: AIDA Cruises
Silver: Baleària Eurolíneas Marítimas
Bronze: Columbia Group
Presented by Enablon

Governance Leader Award
Gold: Navios Maritime Partners
Silver: Pioneer Marine Group of Companies & Genco Shipping & Trading Limited
Bronze: Performance Shipping
Presented by EUROBANK

Community Contribution Leader
Gold: Latsco Shipping
Silver: Berge Bulk
Bronze: Wallem Group
Presented by Tallon Commodities Ltd

People Leader Award:
Gold: Tsakos Group of Companies
Silver: Navios Maritime Partners L.P.
Bronze: Seanergy Maritime Holdings Corp.

Diversity Equity &Inclusion Leader Award:
Gold: Diana Shipping Services S.A.
Silver: Bernhard Schulte Shipmanagement
Bronze: Columbia Group
Presented by The Liberian Registry

Social Leader Award:
Gold: Fleet Management Limited
Silver: Chandris (Hellas) Inc. – Century Bulk Carriers Management
Bronze: Stem Shipping CO. S.A
Presented by Marine Tours

Climate Change Award:
Gold: Carnival Corporation & plc
Silver: Capital Group
Bronze: Odfjell and Höegh Autoliners
Presented by PPG

Environment Leader Award:
Gold: Berge Bulk and Diana Shipping Inc.
Silver: Lemissoler Navigation Co. Ltd
Bronze: Carnival Corporation & plc
Presented by Bureau Veritas

ESG Leader Award:
Gold: Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings Ltd.
Silver: Pacific Basin Shipping
Bronze: Safe Bulkers Inc.
Presented by Deloitte

For more information about the ESG Shipping Awards, please visit or contact us at


Share this!